Tags

, , ,

I sat there Sunday in the park. A beautiful day. A perfect day. The sun shone brightly and a light breeze blew in off Lake Michigan as a funnny little man talked for hours and entertained me. He made me think. He made me wonder. But most of all…. he made me laugh.

He made jokes about life and love and all the messes we get ourselves into. About how people are far too serious in life and how the true purpose in life is simply to be happy. He told stories of his own life and the many adventures it took him on and what they taught him in the end.

He also told sad stories. Stories of loss and hardship. Stories of grief and sorrow, but each story had a moral; that we should choose to be happy and that we cannot control what obstacles life will throw in our path, but we can prepareourselves internally to deal with them far more easily and with far less stress, pain and taxation upon out inner selves.

I spent a few hours on Sunday, sitting in the sunshine, there in the park with that funny little man with the infectious laugh. A silly little monk with a deep understanding of love and life and how simply and easily it might be lived, if only we allow it to be so.

dalai-lama-laughs

I’ll never forget those few precious hours, spent there along the lake among the flowers on a Sunday afternoon with Lhamo Thondup… Jamphel Ngawang Lobsang Yeshe Tenzin Gyatso… his holiness, the Dalai Lama… bathing in the light.

It was beautiful.

I am blessed.

Life is good.

They’ve stolen his nation… and still he laughs.
They’ve killed his people… and still he laughs.
He will never see home again… and still he laughs.

They’ll kill you if you fly his flag, and still…

He laughs.
He laughs.
He laughs.

dalailamalaughing

The one story I recall most was perhaps the greatest lesson of all.

“No matter where I go in the world, people come to me seeking great wisdom and the purpose and meaning of life.  For some odd reason, they never fail to seem sorely disappointed when I tell them, ‘The purpose of life is to be happy.  That is it.  Nothing else.'” – Tenzin Gyatso, 14th Dalai Lama

