Tags

, , ,

One of my poetry groups posted a challenge: write something of substance including some form of the following list of words:
befuddle
jocund
incite
economic
wallow
eradicate
trial
subjugate
euphoric
terminal

I had considered writing something which contained the entire list in order, but… it wasn’t called for and I’m not quite that ambitious today.

– Song of the Siren –

Befuddled by these jocund days
And thousand-hour nights,
I am determined, once again,
To take my stand and
Put young love on trial.

Experience, perhaps, or simply fear
Incites one to pause, now, and gauge
The wisdom of investing his heart
In the economy that is new love.
Eradicate, subjugate or simply submit
To her all-too-damned-brief wiles?

In the end, I know, like all other addicts
I will succumb to my very nature
And wallow in this euphoric abyss
As long as she will have me, for
No sailor stands a chance against his siren.

Knowing full well that all things must end,
As such is the nature of being,
To some, the imminent dash
On the rocks of life
Becomes worth the thrill of the surf.

If only the feeling weren’t terminal.

